6, 90, 8

Me at -85lbs. Looking sharp!

Me at -85lbs. Looking sharp!

Me the day of surgery

Me the day of surgery

Well, it’s been quite a while since I’ve posted any updates on here and there’s lots to go over.

First things first, I’m 6 months post-op. At one of my first check ups with the doctor, he told me that it would take up to this long for the swelling of my stomach to go down. I thought that was a bit excessive, but in fact he was right. Eating wise I have never felt better than I have these last few weeks. I’m finding I can handle more “normal” foods without having pain, discomfort or waves of nausea. It has definitely helped me mentally feel more “normal” than I did previously which is wonderful. Example: John and I made the decision to relocate closer to work. He has a job that has him travel more and he has a larger territory so he’s on the road all the time. Where we lived previously gave me a 40 minute commute to and from work. Since it doesn’t matter where he lives because of travel, I found us a stunning apartment 4 minutes away from where I work. When we moved in, we had a massive outpouring from our friends. As a thank you, we ordered pizza and beers. I was able to sit down and eat a slice of pizza (no crust) like a normal person (see, there was a point to this story). It was very enjoyable to sit down and take bites instead of picking off the pepperoni or cutting things in to small, bite sized pieces.

On top of being 6 months out, I also officially hit the -90 lb mark this morning. Talk about mind blowing! From 258.3 to 168.2! My goal is to hit -100 lbs by the end of the year. I took a photo October 12th when I hit -85, and just about a month later I’ve lost another 5. If I can keep this pace up, I think I just may make it! I would adore being able to ring in the new year saying I lost 100 lbs in less than 12 months. I can’t believe how much my body has changed. John said the other night “Oh my god, I can see your ribs and top three vertebrae in your neck!” (I’ve also become deeply obsessed with my collar bones because I had never seen them before). Alas, skin-wise I do still look like a melted candle and I firmly believe that down the road, possibly after children, I will opt for some type of plastic surgery and get skin removal and some type of breast lift. Things just aren’t as perky when you lose a lot of weight if you know what I mean…!

My other big achievement is that I am now in single digit jeans. I can now dawn a size 8, down from a 20/22. I’m literally over half my size. I’m wearing medium and some small shirts and I’m receiving a lot of positive feedback. I try to shop specifically at second hand stores because I’m going through sizes quickly still and don’t want to spend the money on new items if I’m not going to get a lot of wear out of them. I’m also finding that some items I’ve purchased I’ve missed the window on wearing. That disappoints me a little and I may just opt to take them in and try to re-wear them. No sense in donating them again if I can get away with 20 minutes of sewing.

Otherwise things are going well. I have found the perfect holiday party dress for our company get together in January. I’m ordering a beautiful navy/nude lace mini dress from rent the runway. I told the owner of our company the other day that I’m going all out this year because if you remember and did your reading on this blog, it was an issue that happened at last year’s holiday party that finally made me decide that I needed to make a permanent lifestyle change.  I’m getting my makeup done, hair blown out and I’m renting a designer dress. Our owner has probably been my most vocal champion of my weight loss. Every time he seems me he goes “gosh, I just cant believe how amazing you look! Don’t order your dress yet- at the rate you’re going it’ll be two sizes too small when it’s time to wear it”. Makes me feel great.

Work is crazy and I’ve been pulling a lot of extra hours. Poor John totaled his car last week so we will be on the hunt for a new car soon. we are almost all settled into our new apartment and everything is returning back to normal.

Hope all is well in your world, wherever you are!

This entry was posted in Blog Posts, Photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment